Saumarez Homestead

Les Davis
02 6772 3616
0488 199 361
Contact Us
230 Saumarez Road Enter via Armidale Airport off New England Highway
Armidale NSW 2350

If this is your page and need anything updated then please Contact Us

2018 TripAdvisor Hall of Fame

Winner 2017 New England North West Business Award for Excellence in Social Enterprise

Winner 2017 Armidale Regional Business Award for Excellence in Social Enterprise

Highly commended 2017 National Trust Heritage Award Conservation - Interiors

Winner 2016 National Trust Heritage Award Conservation - Collection

Winner 2016 M&G NSW IMAGinE Engagement Programs Award

Winner 2015 Armidale Business Chamber Award for Digital Innovation

Winner 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015 and 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence

Winner 2012 Armidale Business Chamber Award for Tourism

Stunning historic country homestead with gardens, farm buildings and a cafe giving you an insight into rural life in the 1800's. Available to the public for tours, weddings, functions and events.

This ten-hectare grazing property was first inhabited by British settlers led by Henry Dumaresq in the 1830s. Today it includes an elegant, extensive, fully furnished Edwardian homestead, built between 1888 and 1906, and 15 farm and other buildings dating up to 1910, with their collections of early farm equipment.

Take a guided tour through the White family’s 30 room Edwardian mansion complete with original furnishings, art & ceramics collection. Stroll through Mary White’s garden, with its Jocelyn Brown style cottage garden, the picking garden and the lawns. Visit outbuildings complete with 19th century tools and equipment.

Allow at least half a day to see this extensive property, and experience 19th century pastoral life.

The Saumarez Centre is popular for weddings, celebrations, small conferences and meetings. Lunch and other refreshments available 10am to 4pm Weekends & Public Holidays.

The Café serves Devonshire teas, light lunches 10 am to 4pm Weekends & Public Holidays

Entry Fees

House tour and grounds - Adult $15, Concession $10
Family house tours and grounds $35

Grounds only - Adults $8, Concession $6, Family $20
Family: 2 Adults and accompanied children (5-15 years)
Concessions: Seniors, Pensioners, Full Time Students and
Children 5-15 Years - Children Under 5 years free

National Trust members – free access to grounds

Pre-booked tours & group house tours $10 per person
School groups $6 per student


Opening Hours

Open 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM daily, only for gardens, grounds and Farm Area.
Entry tickets available from Saumarez Homestead Office/Shop. Brochures and honesty box available when office unattended.
On weekends and public holidays Guided tours (10.30 AM, 2:00 PM & 3.30 PM) and the café open (10: 00 AM - 4:00 PM) on weekends and public holidays.
Entry to the house only available by guided tour on weekends and public holidays.

Organised tours for bus groups, car clubs, service clubs and other organisations or groups of 8 or more can be arranged in advance (14 days notice minimum) any day of the week from 9am to 4pm.

The Saumarez Café & guided house tours are not available in Winter from 15 June until 1 September (except for group bookings and functions).
Closed Christmas Day and Good Friday.


click for larger image