Tamworth Powerstation Museum

Ron Greer
02 6766 8324
Contact Us
216 Peel Street
Tamworth NSW 2340

If this is your page and need anything updated then please Contact Us

Check out our new website - www.tamworthpowerstationmuseum.com.au

The first municipal street lighting in Australia commenced in Tamworth, New South Wales on 9th November 1888.

The Tamworth Powerstation Museum opened in 1988; the first all electrical museum in Australia. It features displays recording the history of electricity and items reflecting the impact of the development of electricity on modern society.

The Museum include a replica of the first power station building which was constructed on the site in 1888. The original 1907 Showroom building has been refurbished to display a range of unique exhibits including a pictorial display about the early development of electricity.

The Tamworth Powerstation Museum Collection contains approximately 9,500 objects of historical, cultural, and social significance. The Museum’s displays chronicle the use of electricity in Australia and showcases innovations in electrical science and design from around the world. The diverse collection ranges from important artifacts and machinery spanning Australia’s industrialisation, as well as common household appliances from the twentieth century.

In 2010 the Museum was awarded National Significant Status for its collection and contribution to the history of electricity in Australia.


Opening Hours

Wednesday – Saturday 9am – 1pm

Open other days by appointment contact the Museum on 6766 8324 or 6767 5459

Admission Fees
Adult: $5
Family: $9
Students: $3

Group and Coach bookings welcome by appointment.
Museum Volunteers are available to provide a guided tour.

click for larger image